Adventurin’ : the “Grimm” House, Portland, OR

23 Mar

Yeah… so I’m kind of a geek when it comes to movies/TV… Trivia and Filming Locations and Continuity and such! 🙂

So… When we flew into Portland from SFO to visit family… I was excited to know that we’d get to see the location of Nick’s house on “Grimm“.

With family in the ‘know’ … we asked them to show us  ‘the Grimm house’…  there was confusion about if we meant Nick or Monroe’s house! I thought that was cool, since we really like Monroe, the Blutbad, and he’s become such an important part of “Grimm”.
We headed off to Nick’s place… it’s located in a beautiful neighborhood of Portland and it’s actually inhabited, must be quite an event to deal with when your own home is transformed into the set for a TV show!

I’ve always been in awe about how camera angles and set-dressing can transform a location… i.e. where I expected to see a driveway, there was a street… and that the house was at a higher elevation than it looks to be in the show. So Fun!

So… that was a fun trip celebrating with family over new to be born babies… and getting a little Hollywood in… Or, actually, I’ll say Portlandwood! 🙂

9 Responses to “Adventurin’ : the “Grimm” House, Portland, OR”

  1. Jennifer Flint Designs March 26, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Very cool house! Not haunted though? 😛

    • elanbuendia March 28, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Yeah! Totally cool!
      Well, it’s certainly old enough to have some history/stories… but we didn’t go inside, so I don’t know if there is any activity 😉

      • Cara April 3, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

        Someone forwarded your blog to me because this is actually my house. Yep, it is inhabited and so far no indication of it being haunted! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  2. elanbuendia April 3, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Oh my gosh, Cara!!!

    Thanks for being such a great sport & thanks for the comment!! 🙂

    We love old home’s history and stories. 🙂

    My sister & bro-in-law live within blocks of your neighborhood… and my other sis lives aross the 82.

    Thanks again for the comment… much appreciated!!

    • Cara April 3, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      We don’t mind the pictures as long as our address isn’t circulating the internet! It’s been an interesting process to be involved in. They now only film outdoor shots here…the inside of our house they built on a set in Portland. Glad you enjoyed your trip!

      • elanbuendia April 3, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

        Oh… heck yeah! I understand!

        That’s why I went through every pic I posted from corner to corner to make sure there were no identifing #”s or marks… wanted to protect ya’ all… but still have fun with it. 😉

        Thanks again!

  3. Lindsay September 3, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I in no way want to creep, but am visiting Portland and would love a clue as to where to drive. 🙂 Just a fan of the show.

    • elanbuendia September 7, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      Hey Lindsay ~

      Have fun in PDX!

      I don’t feel appropriate giving the info… actually, I don’t know the exact addresses…

      Portland is divided into North & South Burnside Road & by East and West by the Willamette River.
      And I believe both houses are on the East side.

  4. davekheath January 9, 2014 at 11:00 am #

    I pride myself on going to quirky destinations in PDX, defiantly need to check this one out.

Leave a Reply

