Max’s of Manila Restaurant, South San Francisco, CA

22 May

Mmmmmm…. This is the kinda’ filipino food restaurant I expect to eat at when we go out for Filipino Food!
Dano was so excited that we were going out for Filipino food he almost started bouncing up and down in the car! ๐Ÿ™‚

Max’s Restaurantย is an official Filipino place that opened in the 60’s in the Philippines… they have since opened franchised locations all around the islands and in the States. Lucky for us!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Dano learned about this place from a pinoy co-worker… so happy he did! We’ve been to a number of filipino places in a number of cities… and always found something good, but left slightly dissapointed. WELL, that is not the case at Max’s… everything was a delight to savor! Mmmm mmm goodness!

We started out with Shanghai Lumpia… of course! Delish!
(Even though it was not GF, I had to give it a little try… though I’m on my way to learning how to make my own GF Lumpia Wrappers… ah! ๐Ÿ™‚

Next was Sinigang! I LOVE making Sinigang at home… LOVE it… and I do use lots of lemon and tomoto!
So…when Max’s menu stated their Sinigang to be ‘sour’… I thought, ‘I might be able to handle it.’
Heck yeah I could!! It was SOOO delicious that I just kept eating the broth with the crab fried rice… Man, my mouth is wateringย  just writing about it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Add to the table their House-Specialty “Fried Chicken”… So moist and delish!
It is literally a Fried Chicken… whole bird fried up, as is, with no breading!!ย  That was pretty cool and therefore, it was GF.

We also had Pork Adobe, Green Tea (by Tazo), and Chicken Lumpia (for comparison, good but not as good as Pork.)

We ended our meal with the dessert, Baku Pandan… nummy!
Tapico pearls, Coconut shreds (Macapuno), Pandan Jello, topped with Pandan Ice cream and sprinkled with Toasted Rice. I like!

Of course, we had a lot of leftovers… which made Dano a very happy boy! ๐Ÿ™‚

If there is a location near you… head on over… you will be glad you did! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 Responses to “Max’s of Manila Restaurant, South San Francisco, CA”

  1. Jennifer Flint Designs May 22, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Why do all your posts have to make me hungry? Stop it! I don’t even know what most of that stuff is, and I still want it! Oy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • elanbuendia May 27, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      HA! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I do write a lot of posts about food… can’t help it… I like to savor and share in good food!!

      OH Man! I hope you’ve had Lumpia before!?!?
      If not… head right out and get some… so good.
      (Of course, homemade is best… but at least you can get a try. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Jennifer Flint Designs May 27, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

        Oh, don’t I wish! They SO do not have that stuff here, that I know of! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

