To grow with Baby! A unique gift for niece-y!

31 May

Literally… the minute I heard from my sister that she was having a baby… my Crafty Auntie hat went on!! 🙂

She is the first grandbaby and my first niece from one of my siblings… she is VERY loved!

I had many ideas… and few far-fetched to pull together in time and few ripe for the making!

The first thing I did, when my sis hit 12wks pregnant, was make a ‘start’ from my beautiful Red-Tipped Jade plant.
I took care of this little start as I knew its ultimate life was to be in my niece’s nursury and grow with her!

That was kinda’ the easy part… the difficult part was finding  just the right planter for this precious little bud.
I looked everywhere, in-person and on-line… I found a few good pieces…
then it hit me, one of my sis’s good friends is a potter!

‘Hey!’ I thought… ‘I’ve got to be in touch with her and see what she thinks about making a custom pot for the plant!’
As luck would have it… she was way into the idea!
We collaborated on the colors and theme surrounding the nursury… it turned out lovely!

Check out Sharon’s Pottery at : www.sharongreenwood.com

We decided on a white pot, with an orange interior, and a wee pink heart!
I then purchased a bunch of Fine Point Sharpies in coordinating colors and we had Baby Shower attendees and Family write messages to the little girl on the pot itself!

It was a lovely and fun gift idea! My sister and bro-in-law really enjoyed it!
They wrote their messages to baby directly on the heart itself… I love that!

Stay tuned for the other Cool-As Creative gift I made/gave them! 🙂

Enjoy the pics!

4 Responses to “To grow with Baby! A unique gift for niece-y!”

  1. Jennifer Flint Designs May 31, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    That’s really sweet! I have a Sunrise Cactus that my aunt gave me as a gift for my college graduation in 1993, and it’s still doing great, so I can attest that these types of gifts can really hang in there. It’s almost 20 years old now! And my mother has a cactus that’s probably over 30 years old!

    • elanbuendia May 31, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      AH! Yeah… That’s awesome!
      Succulents and Cacti are wonderful!
      And I love that this one will grow bigger and bigger along with my niece. 🙂

  2. Jennifer Flint Designs May 31, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Yeah – although you’ll probably need to make her a bigger pot later! 🙂

Leave a Reply

